Non-clothes Items

I do make a few of those. Occasionally. So here are three to show you.

 

First, the first item in my new resolution to put a made thing in every gift I make.

This is my friend’s wedding gift – she’s getting married this week, and I bought her a beautiful trifle bowl, but I felt like I needed something made to add to that, especially for this friend as she is very good at giving gifts appropriate to the person and the bowl just seemed a little impersonal.

So she’s getting this:

Image

 

Not the oven, just the gloves. They’re made of quilting cottons on the top and a sturdier tweed-like weave on the use side, with a very thick cotton batting in between, minimally quilted to the top to hold it in place. I’ve tested them next to shop-bought oven gloves, and they work pretty satisfactorily. The fabrics come from my sister’s and mother’s stashes.

 

Second, here’s a headband I made:

Image

Again just a quilting cotton – that’s what there’s most of in this house – two layers, with elastic around the base. Here’s a photo not on my head, to show the two fabrics and relative lengths of elastic and fabric.

Image

I’m quite proud of the stitching in this – I find a great aesthetic pleasure in a well-sewn line, even a very simple one, and I definitely managed that with this headband.

 

Thirdly, a string of bunting I made for my window:

Image

Just very simple, rather small triangles, strung onto ribbon. I’ve made the triangles double-sided because it’s to hang in a window, so I want it to look lovely from inside and out. In this window it’s quite high above the street, so it’s less important, but when I get back to my flat I’ll have it in a window that’s very easily visible and close to the street, so I want it to look perfect.

The fabric is a blue quilting cotton with musical phrases on it – music is one of my favourite things, so I thought it was appropriate when I found it in Mum’s stash. Here’s a close-up of a couple of triangles.

Image

Sorry it’s blurry. The camera really wanted to focus on the street behind it, and I’m not experienced enough with it to stop it.

 

That’s all, folks!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

