2014 Reflections

Hello all! Merry Christmas, happy holidays, etcetera. I love this season – it’s just started getting properly warm for the summer, my favourite fruits are coming into season (raspberries and apricots, for the record. And I discovered my new flat has a productive raspberry bush!), and I just spent a week out of town with my family. The pre-Christmas stress is over (caused, this year, by trying to make four Christmas presents in one and a half weeks. I do stupid things sometimes), and it’s time for enjoying the summer (and working. Lots of work – I’m doing night shift tonight, in fact. But I just got five days off, so you can’t ask for too much). The last couple of days I’ve been feeling a bit lonely – my family are mostly still on holiday, but I had to leave them and come back to an empty flat. I like living by myself temporarily, but two months is a bit much. However, I’m currently in the process of moving, and when I’m fully moved in to my new flat I will have a flatmate, so no longer alone! This is my saving grace.

Anyway, in spirit of the end of the year, I’m going to join Gillian of Crafting a Rainbow‘s Top 5 Series, although I plan on only having two posts (one reflection, one planning) and am not holding myself to making 5 for anything (It looks like I’ve sewn around 12 things this year. 5 of each would not give me many in-between items).

Today: Hits, misses, and highlights.

First, the misses.

3: The Demeter Dress IMG_1568

There is nothing wrong with this dress itself. I like the pattern, the fabric, and the colour. The problem is the fit. It had an utterly terrible fit on me. At first this didn’t bother me all that much – I still wore it a fair bit – but it got worse and worse. I altered it to improve, but ultimately gave it to my sister because the fit doesn’t bug her as much as it does me.

2:Ā The Roses Dress IMG_1790

This is an interesting one – lots of people seem to like it, I’m just not one of them. It’s not got awesome fit, but the main issue is that I don’t really feel comfortable in these colours/this print. I’m not sure why – I’m perfectly happy in white-with-blue fabrics, but with-pink is an absolute no. Wearing it with a pink sash does a lot for it, and I do wear the dress, but I’m just not entirely happy.

1: Absolute winner: the Accidental Maternity Regency Dress This one never got posted, because it was so freaking terrible. It never even got finished. It’s sitting in my fabrics box (to be recycled into linings) with no sleeves, no hems, no facings, because I tried it on when I’d made the body and it made me look very very pregnant, was very unattractive, and just no. I gave up then and there. It wasn’t worth even trying to salvage. So no photos, or anything. Sorry guys.

On the other hand: Hits!

3: The Snow Queen Dress IMG_1720

My single most-worn dress of the year. Works equally well for summer and winter, and looks fabulous all year round! I really wasn’t convinced by the dress while I was making it, but it has turned out to be an amazing one.

2: The Arwen Dress

10389174_10152437985317061_7132862334785589640_n

I did a pretty good job with this one. It took some wrestling, for the neckline and sleeves, but the result is gorgeous. So long as you don’t get too close to the neck trim. Also, isn’t my little sister pretty?

1: The Silk Summer Dress

IMG_1828

This wins because the quality of the workmanship wins. I did a very good job on this, in my opinion, and it is the single dress that I get disbelieving responses when I say I made it – even from my own sister. (True story: I left some threads uncut in the hem to prove that I made it) I am super proud of this dress – though it’ll be some time before I brave sewing with chiffon again.

Finally, non-sewing highlights.

3. I did a 10km run. This is an achievement for me, the solidly unsporty and often unfit. At the moment I’m not running because I’m exhausted when I get home from work, but I might work on that when I’m doing fewer shifts, which should be the case next month.

2. I finished my third year of medicine, and decided to take a year off next year to pursue other interests (which I’m sure you’ll hear about here in due course…)

1. I started a job that I love and that I feel like I make a difference by doing – rest home caregiving. I love chatting to our residents as part of my work. It’s great.

That’s all for today! I will be back with goals for 2015 in a few days. Possibly New Year’s Day, because not only is that an appropriate day for goals, it’s also my next day off. See you then!

One thought on “2014 Reflections

Leave a Reply

