the space bra

Guys, I made a bra! It’s way better than my last one – it’s actually more comfortable than most of my bought ones!

IMG_1985

(I haven’t worked out how to take good bra photos yet. Working on it.)

This is actually a slightly old make – maybe in March? April? I took it fromt he Sophie Swimsuit pattern, but changed the shape a bunch – I felt that my swimsuit fit better than the other bra I’ve made, but I prefer slightly more security than either of them gave me, so I raised the fronts. Too much, as it turned out (it’s still suboptimal placement, but I lowered it as much as the already-cut-and-attached lace would let me once I realised, after sewing everything except the straps together…)

IMG_1975

Speaking of which, what nice lace! I’ve had it in my stash for a long time – I think it came in a bundle of things from an op shop, and I wanted the other pieces of the bundle – so it’s nice to have finally found a good use for it. I am fond of it.

IMG_1974

I also narrowed the bridge rather a lot on this – I’ve realised that my favourite bras actually overlap the underwire channeling at the front, so I tried it out, and it has made a solid difference. It sits much nicer at the front now. So that I’ll have to remember.

IMG_1971

I’ve taken the back attachment and rings and sliders from an existing bra (also from an op shop – I periodically search for bras with good quality bits and pieces, preferably that are falling to pieces in some other way so I don’t feel bad about taking apart a perfectly functional item for my own ends). The elastics and back band fabric (duoplex) are dyed with tea and a small amount of turmeric – the colour is not super well controlled, but I knew that any cream was going to be preferable to the stark white, when put next to that slightly cream silk at the front. (Pro tip – if you’re dying with turmeric and aiming for cream, get the smallest amount you can get and still have anything at all on your teaspoon. A quarter teaspoon is far too much and you will have sunshine yellow, leaning towards orange. This may not be a problem if that’s what you’re after, but I don’t aim for bright yellow very often tbh.)

IMG_1972

The front of the bra is some silk scraps, and I lined it with cotton muslin. I am rather fond of the pattern on the silk, with its small space themed motifs, but I actually chose to use it because I wouldn’t be desperately sad if it didn’t quite work out right. I successfully hid all the seams on one cup, but not the other… anyway, this is what I was aiming for. It’s lovely and clean, when you do it right.

 

This is not without its fit problems – it’s perfect around the band, but a little large in the cup size – but I wear it a lot, and will continue to do so.

 

What else have I been up to? Well…

IMG_1950

I’m working on a quilt (it’s halfway sewn together now).

 

I’m making baby cardigans (rather a lot of them).

I went on a very brief trip to Queenstown. There was snow.

 

And, in rather an exciting thing, I fell in love with a placement. One of my friends said to me that she loves watching people find their thing, as we go through clinical placements – some people fall in love with surgery, some with paediatrics… well, I love obstetrics. I’ve been on an obstetrics and gynaecology placement, and I was loving every day, and looking forward to getting back to placements, and studying just because I enjoy knowing about this and because I’m curious, and reading about different philosophies of birth… I’ve spent some years knowing that I was interested in obstetrics, but telling people that I’m not sure what I wanted to do, because I’d never had a placement in it, and placements change things. Well, now I have. And it was fantastic. I’m planning to do an elective placement in obstetrics in Germany in January, so I look forward to that mightily.

(Naturally, I’ve chosen a specialty that has only a 1 in 3 acceptance rate into the training programme. What great planning. Also, I’m trying to hold it lightly because I remember being very insistent that I would never be a doctor and clearly that plan has changed. Who knows – I’m doing psychiatry next and maybe I’ll love that one too!)

Mā te wā!

Leave a Reply

